Australia’s major cycling organisations have joined forces to create an election platform and give Australia’s four million bike riders a voice in the 2013 election.

25 September 2013 With counting almost complete in the 2013 Federal Election, the results show that politicians who cycle have performed exceptionally well at the ballot box. All 12 members of the Riders on the Hill parliamentary cycling group have been returned and will represent their electorates in the 44th Parliament. Prime Minister Tony Abbott is part of the cycling group along with parliamentarians and staff from all major parties. The group has bunch rides on a Wednesday morning during Parliamentary sitting weeks that start and finish at Parliament House. Members meet at 6.30am for a 30 km ride, often followed by coffee. The group was founded in 2005 and in the last year numbers have grown with the addition of Josh Frydenberg (Kooyong), Stuart Robert (Fadden) and Stephen Jones (Throsby).

2 September 2013 As Kevin Rudd and Tony Abbott sprint to the election finish, a lead out team has joined them on the road to make sure cycling policies on are on the winner’s podium on election night.

The Vote4Cycling election campaign was launched on 14 August 2013 by the first ever partnership of 22 national, state and community cycling organisations from around the country.

The group maintains cycling is now one of the largest constituencies in this country, growing rapidly, and deserves a place at the policy table.

Vote4Cycling spokesman, Stephen Hodge, said: “The political parties have to realise that a huge number of Australians are now riding bikes and they want their concerns recognised and addressed.

This National Partnership Proposal identifies six ways that the Commonwealth can give people the option of riding:

  1. Stimulate the growth in walking and riding to school
  2. Upgrade infrastructure on proven urban bicycle corridors
  3. Develop recreational bicycle and walking paths
  4. Develop regional infrastructure for local and tourist use
  5. Leverage Commonwealth infrastructure projects to lift the level of riding
  6. Foster better road user behaviour

What you can do

1. Sign the petition – Join the push this election to get more from Canberra for bikes.  Go to the Vote4Cycling website and sign the ‘I Vote4Cycling petition’.

2. Contact your local candidates – Ask them to confirm their committment to cycling.  Tell them to post their position on cycling on the Vote4Cycling website.  A list is candiates is is available on the website

3. Spread the word – Use social media to spread the word.  Use the hashtag #vote4cycling and Twitter handle @vote4cycling to get the topic trending.

We will present the names collected in our online Vote4Cycling campaign to the leaders of all major parties during the election campaign in the hope we can secure multi-party support and commitment for our policy proposals.

The Australian Vote4Cycling Partnership:

National and state cycling bodies:
Amy Gillett Foundation; Bicycle Industries Australia; Bicycle Network; Bicycle New South Wales; Bicycle NT; Bicycle Queensland; Bike SA; Bicycle Tasmania; Bicycling Western Australia; Cycling Australia; Cycling Promotion Fund; Pedal Power ACT; Rail Trails Australia; WestCycle.

Community organisations:
Bicycles Network Australia; Bike North; BIKESydney; Brisbane Cyclist; Go! Alliance; Melbourne Cyclist; Sydney Cyclist.

Media contacts:
Stephen Hodge 0411 149 910, Garry Brennan 0419 311 079